Tearing the front end apart

Standard

When I took the fork filler caps off there was a a sizeable amount of force that blasted the cap off in my hand. I kept better pressure on the second one as I took it off so it wouldn’t break my hand in the process. The pvc spacers must have been in place for the Luftmeister fairing. When I reassembled, I left them out since I’m not putting a fairing back on. One thing that wasn’t super clear in my manuals and online was the fact that once the hexagonal bolt and spring are removed from under the break caliper, the eccentric pin pulls out rather than unscrews. The eccentric pin is an interesting design element to allow for adjustment of the brake pads to the rotor. I used one of the other bolts from the brake line bracket to slightly thread into the eccentric pin and pull it out. You can see that this sequence of photos stops at the distal end of the eccentric pin…I was stumped…

Leave a Reply

